How I lost my amazing phone :(


Before I get started let me rant a bit. I am really pissed at the guys at Orange. I bought credit worth 120 shillings and loaded it on my modem as usual. It seems their system had a bug because before I use to buy 100MB with 120 shillings but today I had to pay 150 shillings. Only having 120 shillings I had to go back to the shop and buy credit worth 40 shillings to top it up. Imagine the shock that greeted me when I tried to load up, my credit was down to 85 shillings! Does it really make sense to charge the clients when they are accessing their Orange profile??? And to make matters worse how can navigating from one page to another cost 35 shillings??? Those guys really need to style up!

Ok I admit I have drifted off a bit, back to what I really intended to blog about today; how I lost my precious phone. We resumed ours studies last week and every classmate I meet asks where my phone went and so I thought I would do this post to explain all. So next time a person asks how I lost my phone I will just direct them here.

I had this cool phone; Nokia 5230 but now that I lost it I can dare say it wasn’t that cool 🙂 (Okay maybe a bit).

Nokia 5230

Nokia 5230

Let me just run down the specs

  • TFT resistive touch screen, 360 x 640 pixels, 3.2 inches
  • 3G internet connection
  • 70 MB storage, 128 MB RAM and microSD up to 16GB
  • IM and Push Email
  • 2 MP camera and video
  • GPS
  • Proximity sensor for auto turn-off (Never turned it on 😦 )
  • Accelerometer sensor for UI auto-rotate
  • Handwriting recognition (I never used this feature though)
  • Voice command

Ok let me just say it was an amazing phone. It was a Sunday morning; I was heading to Nakumatt Prestige to meet a friend. I boarded a matatu at Serena, a number 8. For those who don’t know number 8 plies the Kibera route through Ngong road. I had never boarded a number 8 before and so I had no clue there are people literally at work in there. I sat in the seat just behind the driver’s row at the seat just next to the door. Just when we were approaching the NPC Valley Road the guy behind me dropped some coins. Being the good person I usually am I went ahead and picked them for him. Two guys alighted at Hurligham and we went on with our journey. I alighted at Nakumatt Prestige and proceeded to the Sherlock’s Den there. My friend was running late and so I decided to give him a call. I nearly fainted when I realized my pocket was empty. It then dawned on me that the guy dropping the coins was creating a distraction so that the guy seated next to me could steal from me!

Not a person to give up easily I decided to report the matter to the CID headquarters. Little did I know that was a total waste of my time. The guys there told me it would take at least 3 months before my phone could be traced. And with that disappeared my hopes of ever recovering my phone.

What next? I have this policy, whenever I lose a phone I always buy a more expensive phone that the one I lost. At the time I bought the Nokia 5230 it had a market value of 15k and that means I will have to look for something more than that. With that in mind I went about doing some window shopping and came across this beauty

Samsung Galaxy S

Samsung Galaxy S

Samsung Galaxy S is a pretty amazing phone. A glance at its features

  • Super AMOLED capacitive touch screen (You can see everything clearly even in the sun)
  • 3G and Wi-Fi
  • Geo-tagging, touch focus, face and smile detection
  • Android OS, v2.1 (Eclair), upgradable to v2.3
  • SMS(threaded view), MMS, Email, Push Mail, IM, RSS
  • Document editor (Word, Excel, PowerPoint, PDF)
  • Accelerometer sensor for UI auto-rotate
  • Touch-sensitive controls
  • Proximity sensor for auto turn-off amongst other features

But……it is damn expensive! The phone retails for roughly 45,000 shillings. I am better off buying a cow or something like that (Yea, I have stayed in Nairobi but still a Kale at heart). And so I guess I will just have to do more window shopping. All I know is that I am searching for an Android powered phone; the Ideos is not an option though because too many people have it. Do you have any suggestions? Post them in the comment section below.  Will keep you updated. Cheers!

11 thoughts on “How I lost my amazing phone :(

  1. About 16K, though just a little better than Ideos in terms of battery life and I think Camera and a bitter larger in size!

  2. Thank you for sharing this with me. I just lost the my Samsung Galaxy DUO, which i invested 14K, i bought on 8th of June 2012, just yesterday Sunday 24th June 2012 i boarded a Matatu to Prestige from Adams arcade, I don`t know how they manage to get to my Pocket… I almost faited when i found that the phone is gone,, which is barely 2 weeks old. I did not sleep the whole of last night… I am going to get over it anyway.

    • Pole sana Abdi. Those guys are good at what they do; stealin phones. I nearly lost the replacement too recently but thankfully this time I was carefull. The guy sat next to me and when I was alighting he tried to pick my pocket.

Leave a Reply

